Does Edgecombe County Sell Tax Lien Certificates?
North Carolina State law prohibits the selling of property tax liens.
Is There A List Of Pending Foreclosures For Interested Buyers?
A list of properties that Edgecombe County has filed suite against for delinquent taxes are listed on this site. As sale dates are set the list will indicate so beside the appropriate property. The Tax Office does not maintain or provide a mailing list of these properties.
Can You Pay Someone's Delinquent Taxes And Become The Owner Of The Property?
No. Paying someone else’s taxes will not entitle you to any legal ownership to the property.
Are These Properties Involved In Mortgage Or Bankruptcy Sales?
These sales are generated from delinquent tax liens ONLY. They are not related to any mortgage company or bankruptcy foreclosure. The County has no knowledge of foreclosure proceedings being conducted by a mortgage company or a bankruptcy court.
How Often Do You Have Foreclosure Sales?
Edgecombe County has foreclosure sales throughout the year. Properties for sale are advertised once a week, for two consecutive weeks prior to sale in the local newspaper, depending on the location of the property. Notices of Sale are also posted on the Courthouse bulletin board for 20 days prior to the sale.
Where Are The Sales Conducted?
The foreclosure sales are conducted on the Courthouse steps at 201 St. Andrew St, Tarboro, North Carolina. During inclement weather, at the Commissioner’s discretion the sale may be held inside the building.
On What Days Are The Sales Held?
The sale dates are randomly selected and are generally scheduled to occur at 12:00 p.m. on the specified sale date.
How Much Is Required As A Deposit On The Day Of The Sale?
A 5% (five percent) deposit of the highest bid at the initial date of sale is required. This bid must be made in cash or certified bank check made payable to ‘Alison Boyette Attorney At Law’. Personal checks are not accepted. The deposit must be presented to the Commissioner conducting the sale immediately following the sale.
During the upset bid process, the minimum bid on any property must be the greater of $750 or 5% of the highest bid. The deposit on such an upset bid must also be the greater of $750 or 5% of the submitted upset bid. The deposit must be made in cash or certified bank check made payable to ‘Edgecombe County Clerk of Court’. Personal checks are not accepted.
Where Do I Go To Place An Upset Bid On A Property?
Foreclosure sale upset bids must be submitted in person at the Clerk of Court’s Office, Civil Department, at the Edgecombe County Courthouse. The property’s physical address and case number must be provided to the Clerk’s Office in order for the Clerk to access the correct record to process your bid.
Does The 10-Day Upset Bid Period Include Weekends And Holidays?
The first day after the foreclosure sale is conducted counts as Day 1. Saturday and Sunday are also counted; however, if Day 10 falls on the weekend or a holiday, the next working day shall be counted as Day 10.
Does Edgecombe County Offer Financing?
Edgecombe County does not offer financing. It is the bidder’s responsibility to secure any necessary financing prior to bidding on any property.
When Is My Full/Final Payment Expected?
Full and Final payment of your winning bid is due 30 days from the close of the 10 day upset period. In event these funds are not received within the time required, your deposit will be forfeited and your bid will be considered null and void. The sale will be rescheduled for the purchase by another buyer. In addition, you will no longer be considered an acceptable bidder and will not be allowed to bid on future tax foreclosure sales.
What Happens To Property When No One Raises The County's Opening Bid At A Foreclosure Sale?
If no initial or upset bid is submitted on a foreclosure property, Edgecombe County will be confirmed the winning bidder on the property by the Clerk of Court and such property may become surplus property by the Clerk of Court, and such property may be sold at a later date by Edgecombe County.
What Kind Of Deed Will I Receive?
You will receive a Commissioners Deed, and in accordance with G. S. 105-374.