More News


The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice to the public, in accordance with Title 44 C.F.R. Sections 9.6 and 9.8, of its intent to provide assistance to applicants through the Individual and Households Program for residential structures damaged by Hurricane Matthew beginning on October 4, 2016. This notice applies to the Individual Assistance (IA) program implemented under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 5121-5206. Under a major disaster declaration FEMA 4285-DR-NC signed by the President on October 10, 2016 and amended October 12, 2016, October 13, 2016, October 17, 2016, October 19, 2016, October 24, 2016, October 25, October 31, November 1, November 3, November 10, and November 14, 2016, the following counties have been designated adversely affected by the disaster and eligible for PA (all categories) only: Franklin, Pamlico, and New Hanover Counties, and for IA and PA (all categories): Anson, Bladen, Chatham, Cumberland, Halifax, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Nash, Richmond, Scotland, and Wake Counties, and for IA and PA (Categories A & B only): Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Harnett, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Moore, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, Wayne, Wilson, and Washington Counties. Additional counties may be designated by FEMA at a later date. FEMA intends to provide IA program funding for disaster-related emergency temporary housing for displaced disaster survivors. This action may adversely affect a floodplain/wetland, or may result in continuing vulnerability to floods. Funded activities may include temporary staging of manufactured housing units and placement/installation of manufactured housing units on private residence and/or commercial park sites. A manufactured home is defined in 44 CFR Part 59.1 as “a structure, transportable in one or more sections, which is built on a permanent chassis and is designed for use with or without a permanent foundation when attached to required utilities.” Pursuant to 44 CFR 9.8, this is the initial public notice concerning these actions. This public notice concerns activities that may affect historic properties, activities that are located in or affect wetland areas or the 100-year floodplain, and critical actions within the 500-year floodplain. These activities may adversely affect historic property, floodplain or wetland, or may result in continuing vulnerability to flood damage. Presidential Executive Orders 11988 and 11990 require that all federal actions in or affecting the floodplain or wetlands be reviewed for opportunities to relocate, and evaluated for social, economic, historical, environmental, legal and safety considerations. The public is invited to participate in the process of identifying alternatives and analyzing their impacts. FEMA will not be providing assistance for actions in the Coastal High Hazard Areas (V-Zone), floodways, or within coastal areas protected by the Coastal Barrier Resource Act.
discover logo

Edgecombe County is easy to find...but hard to leave!  Discover more about why our county is a great place to visit and live!